The Creepy Future of Online Journalism: EPIC 2015

My entire generation and I grew up with the internet.  We have seen it change  and morph and evolve in ways few people could have ever imagined.  There is no doubt that changes will come in the future that will affect the way we all live.  The important question is if those changes will be for the best or send society further down a self-destructive path. 

The popular YouTube video, EPIC 2015, paints an interesting and at times alarming picture of the future of the internet.  The video begins with an informative story about the beginning of the internet, explaining the influence of a man named Tim Berners-Lee, inventer of the World Wide Web as we know it, and sites like Amazon and Google before flying off into a fictional future in which  print media is all but pounded into submission by internet giants.

In the future, according to EPIC 2015, Google and Amazon merge to create a super-site known as Googlezon.  Googlezon uses Google’s trade mark algorhythms and Amazon’s personal recommedation feature to create a site more powerful than any news organization.  This eventually leads to the creation of EPIC, a site that takes information from users to create a completely personalized news experience without the help of journalists. This ultra-personalization creates a totally sensationalized media experience that caters solely to a person’s own interests.

This video, though a piece of fiction, makes one wonder if something like this could actually happen. I, personally, don’t think it is that far-fetched.  Think of all the changes in the internet since its inception.  Social networking sites have revolutionized the way people interact with one another, sites like YouTube and Hulu have threatened the boob tube for viewing supremecy and music sites like Pandora and Last.fm allow people to create a virtual radio station more in-tune with their tastes than any traditional AM or FM station. 

The internet, with all of its possibilities, seems to be overwhelming traditional media in a way that, if it continues unchecked, could create a future like that of EPIC 2015. 

Though I use the internet and Google as a tool as much as anyone else, I find myself thinking of its eerie possibilities.  Facebook and Google could slowly become Big Brother.  Google seems to know everything about us, our interests and hobbies, the sites we visit the most and Facebook lets people see and hear about what we are doing on a moment to moment basis. 

If we are not careful, unlike in the novel 1984, the government won’t need to monitor us, we will do the job for them via the many wonders of the web.

About Bob Ringer

I am a 21-year-old journalist and student at Minnesota State University, Mankato,born and raised in the shadow of the Twin Cities, in the suburb of Bloomington, Minnesota.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Creepy Future of Online Journalism: EPIC 2015

  1. Karrie says:

    The internet is a beautiful thing, but all the information running around on it scares me. Its perfect for chatting with friends or researching, but when I think about it, it’s scary how much information is out there about me. It makes me uneasy to think of how much control of my own information I don’t have.

  2. ritzbrit says:

    I agree that it’s not far-fetched to say that Google and Amazon could join forces one day. Facebook and Skype are starting to join forces so why not have Googlezon?

  3. “Google seems to know everything about us, our interests and hobbies, the sites we visit the most and Facebook lets people see and hear about what we are doing on a moment to moment basis.” Bob– the internet all ready is big brother. Every time we click a mouse and type a letter online that information is stored and companies can actually view all of our internet habits and use that information to directly market to us. This is called data mining and I have a feeling we are all going to begin hearing much more about it in the near future.

    Margo

  4. Natalie Stoos says:

    I think this is a great post. It is an interesting topic and is written very well. I have not seen Epic 2015, but now I know I need to. I agree with your belief that it is possible for the internet to become too invasive, I happen to think it already is. I am shocked at some of the things people display on their Facebook pages, for example, their home addresses and phone numbers.

  5. aisenberg10 says:

    I would agree with almost everything that you had to say here. Although the Epic 2015 is fictional it is not unfathomable. We have seen how much the media world has chaged over the past 10 years. The idea of that “googlezon” sounds very dangerous to me. If bigger companies merge together wouldn’t that mean that it would make it tougher for the little guys to survive in this business? It is very exciting to think about what we could have in 5 years but scarry also.

  6. AnnWahlstrom says:

    I agree, a future like EPIC 2015 would be creepy and “Big Brotherish”. When I think of it that way, it makes me scared to be a part of it. To not be a part of it, though, would mean that I need to give up Google, Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, and that just isn’t going to happen. These things have become so important to me that I think I would rather be monitored by the government than to give them up. So, EPIC 2015, here I come!

  7. natebrennan says:

    Great idea for a blog, but embedding the video you’re describing would be more effective in communicating what you are referring to than sending the reader to a separate link.

  8. Dan Boettcher says:

    I definitely agree that technology is growing at an alarming rate. The prospect of technology taking over and doing our thinking for us is a sobering thought. Hopefully, artificial intelligence never outstrips our ability to control it.

  9. dustyne k says:

    Haha I really like your thinking! I am not good with all this technology that’s popping up everywhere and while everyone is enjoying it I’m struggling. I hoped it wouldn’t start to become a monster and take over everyone’s lives but the process is already in effect.

  10. Ellen Mrja says:

    Great blog post, Bob. Your headline was an eye-catcher, too.

Leave a Reply

